From the Peasants To the Rich

Jeans have become universal over the years and are definitely a staple in my wardrobe. I’ve been wearing jeans ever since I was a child but the styles of my jeans have changed overtime. For instance, I remember wearing jeans with printed flowers when I was in elementary school, wearing flare jeans in middle school and by the time I went to high school, I began wearing skinny and super skinny jeans. Jeans have evolved from “the unemotional, durable garb of miners and others” to a fashion trend. Furthermore, I have noticed that in several advertisements, men and woman are seen shirtless and in sexual positions, displaying a brand of jeans―especially Calvin Klein Jeans. Though, Calvin Klein Jeans advertising tactics have changed a bit, jeans of every brand still  emphasize the curves of women in their advertisements.

Skinny jeans, a popular style seen in recent years is not limited to women and hipsters anymore, skinny jeans are in style for men now. On the other hand, I have also seen several young men wearing baggy jeans, revealing their underpants. However, popular culture and celebrities do have a great role in making certain style of jeans popular among the youth. According to ABC News, “Americans spend $13 billion dollars a year on jeans and they are the most worn item in every woman’s closet” (Noll 2010). Jeans appear to be something that will remain for a long time, comforting people of every class.

-Monika Kumar

Leave a Reply

