Jeanie in a Bottle

Parachute cut. Baggy cut. Straight cut. Skinny cut. Super skinny cut. For the past 2 decades of my existence, this has been the development of denim. The more fashion develops, the slimmer denim becomes. I remember that when I was little, jeans we’re ONLY for hanging out. God forbid I wear jeans to church, or to a funeral, or to a wedding, my mother would rip them off of me and strangle me to death. She thought of them as tacky, and disrespectful in an elegant environment. Truth is, most of that generation had the same mindset as my mother. Many of my elders would agree and also hang me with a denim noose.

I think of all of my denim as a “genie in a bottle”. They are my go-to pairs of bottoms. If I am lazy, I throw on my jeans. If I am running to the store, I throw on my jeans. If I am hanging out in the city, I throw on my jeans. They are just so comfortable. Especially after they break in, it feels like I’m running around bottomless! (Sorry for the image).

Time and trends are respecters of no one. In the past few years, denim has grown on people. It seems as if literally over night, denim became dressy. In my teenage super rebellious years I decided to wear jeans to church. (I know, I know. I was a real rebel). But it seemed that everyone else was doing the same. People started to wear jeans with graphic tees and threw on a blazer over it. BAM! DRESSY! Men wore button downs with jeans and shoes. BAM! DRESSY! Women wore jeans, a blouse and heels. BAM! DRESSY! I didn’t start anything. Society changed together. We collectively and sub-consciously permitted denim to enter the category of “dressy”. The funny thing is, the lower and working class have been doing it since jeans we’re invented. It always seems to take forever for the upper class to catch up.

Abraham Ariel Vazquez

4 comments
  1. rohened said:

    Abraham I agree with you. Jeans have become something everyone wears on a daily base. We all wear it to go almost everywhere. If some people had the opportunity they would probably wear it to go to work instead of wear a suit and a tie.

  2. khuynh9 said:

    Lol yeah to piggyback off of “rohened” fashion has definitely changed and modified with a few twists. I agree with you on how people nowadays can get away with wearing dark denim with a nice top and it’s dressy. In magazines, I see designers thinking outside of the box by pairing clothe pieces with other fabrics and surprisingly, these pieces work together. And who knows, maybe it won’t be a fashion faux pas to wear jeans to formal events in the future.

  3. nsaudi said:

    Abraham, I think it’s interesting how so many people have acknowledged the evolution of jeans from farm-wear to appropriate for a dressy occasion. I think it just shows how much control the fashion industry has over trends, that they can take something that was once meant just for workers and turn it into a fashion statement. I mean, you can see royalty walking around in denim, albeit it’s probably overpriced as hell. What really hit me in your analysis was when you wrote “In the past few years, denim has grown on people.” This could mean both literally and figuratively, since nowadays, as you mentioned, super duper skinny jeans have become the latest trend. So skinny it’s like it grows on you!

    -Nour Saudi (008)

  4. When I was reading what you wrote, I remember certain times when my mom would tell me that I couldn’t wear jeans to parties or church or any type of “event”. If any of my aunts got wind of what I wanted to do, and they usually did, they would start to complain about how the younger generation has no respect or ability to dress themselves for an occasion. Now I usually see everyone in jeans at parties. If I or someone else show up at church with jeans on, no one comments; it’s okay. Weddings are still considered a non-jean occasion in my family, though. I don’t doubt that it’s only a matter of time until that changes, too.

Leave a Reply

